Anne H. Showers, ED. M.
Founder & CEO

Anne is a New York certified teacher with her Masters in Education and has years of experience working with high school and college students from a variety of backgrounds, including those considered at risk or special needs.

She founded the non-profit Accessible Academics in 2015 to help her students complete their college degrees and live independently in the community. Her dream is for every student to have access to postsecondary support and believes that Accessible Academics is a step towards achieving that goal.

Anne is currently pursuing her PhD in Curriculum, Instruction, and the Science of Learning at the University at Buffalo. Her research focuses on issues of diversity and inclusion in college classrooms and improving undergraduate teaching and learning in large introductory courses.

Barbara Boese B.A.
Transition Coordinator

Barbara Boese, B.A. in Sociology and Psychology, hails from the State of Delaware with over 25 years of experience providing case management services and program administration. From 2014- 2018, as the State of Delaware Vocational Rehabilitation Contracts and Programs Administrator, she has developed, implemented and evaluated Pre-Employment Transition Services, Employment Placement, Supported Employment and Supported Education services to agencies that serve students, youth, and adults with disabilities.

Allison Lakomski, Ph.D.

Allison Lakomski holds a PhD in Cultural Studies. She has worked in both academia and the nonprofit sector with an eye towards issues of empowerment and access. As an instructor of Humanities and Social Sciences at George Mason University and University of Maryland, Baltimore County, she had the opportunity to work with a diverse group of students from across the globe at various stages in their personal lives and careers. Seeing students’ unique strengths and passions, as well as struggles and roadblocks, Allison brings to Accessible Academics her commitment to providing students with the specific resources they need to succeed in ways that are personally meaningful and fulfilling.

Board of Directors

  • Lois Rosenbloom – President
  • Nathan Brandwein – Vice President
  • Greg Collesano – Treasurer
  • Annette Pinder – Secretary
  • Adrian Roselli
  • Sachin Bhargava